Prof. David Blaauw inducted into MICRO Hall of Fame

Blaauw and his group are also recipients of numerous best paper awards and honors, including the MICRO Test of Time award
David Blaauw

David Blaauw, Kensall D. Wise Collegiate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, has made the 2022 MICRO Hall of Fame.  This honor recognizes researchers with eight or more papers presented at the International Symposium on Microarchitecture. 

MICRO is the flagship conference for microprocessor architecture and one of the top-tier computer architecture conferences. Technology presented at MICRO has been incorporated into modern microprocessors over the past fifty years.

Blaauw is a creative innovator and world-leader in the design and development of low-power computing. His research and collaborations led to the development of the world’s smallest computer, called the Michigan Micro Mote (M3). His current research ranges from low power RF, analog mixed-signal and digital circuits, to millimeter-sensors and embedded systems. [learn more about David Blaauw]

Several former students have started companies based on research conducted as part of his research group, and Blaauw is a co-founder of two of them: Ambiq Micro and CubeWorks. He has been recognized with several innovation awards, and was named a U-M Distinguished University Innovator in 2019.

Blaauw maintains a large research group, and has been recognized frequently for the excellence of his research. He has received numerous best paper awards, as well as a MICRO Test of Time award, and a most influential paper award from both ACM/IEEE International Conference on Computer Architecture and IEEE/ACM Int. Conference on Computer-Aided Design (ICCAD).

He has also been recognized by IEEE VLSI Circuits Symposium as a top publishing author, by DAC as a top 10 most cited author and most prolific author, and as a top 10 contributing author to the Int. Solid-State Circuits Conference (ISSCC).

Blaauw joins at least a dozen current and former EECS faculty who have also been inducted into the MICRO Hall of Fame, including CSE faculty member and Miller Faculty Scholar Ron Dreslinski, who made the list this year.